Your Q’s, A’ed

We are slowly making our way up the ICW in North Carolina.  Our last stop was the Coinjock Marina (you’ve all see the signs on your way to the OBX), which is not much more than a face dock with a restaurant in the ICW. The days are long, as there aren’t many places to stop and the distances between them are in the 60-70 nautical mile range.  When you are going 6 knots, it takes a while to cover those distances.

Rick – in Tigger mode – has no problem waking up and taking on the day.  I, on the other hand, cover my face with my blanket when he tries to wake me up.  He kindly allows me to help him get us off the dock or the anchor, and then back into my warm and cozy bunk for another hour or so.  The days have been cold, windy and very wet, so there’s not much incentive for me to face the day.  I suspect I’m also having a little trouble facing the fact that I’ll be going back to work soon.

Anyway, I have some more of your questions to answer, which I’ll intersperse with photos from the last few days.

What’s the first thing you did when you got home?

When we snuck home to catch our flight to New Orleans, we arrived close to midnight.  So, after walking in the door, marveling at the large foyer and wondering how many cases of wine I could stow in that space, I collapsed in my large, comfortable, downy, warm, non-moving bed.   Mmmmmmm.

001 - Adams Creek House (1)

I LOVE this house that we saw on Adams Creek.  That color green is the same as the “accent” wall in my kitchen at home.  I need to get me some chairs like that!

What ways have you and Rick found to get exercise when you are on the boat for so long?

 At least in the Bahamas, I could get a day’s worth of exercise walking to 3 different grocery stores to fill maybe two-thirds of my grocery wish list!  Aside from that, Rick has continued to run where there were paved roads (not many of those), and we did a bit of walking.  But most importantly, we brought with us an inflatable kayak and an inflatable stand-up paddleboard.  In much of the Bahamas, we carried those right on deck, making us look like the Beverly Hillbillies.  We paddled every other day, if not more often.  With wind and current, they made for a good workout!

But when we can’t get off the boat, we count running up and down the companionway steps as exercise.

What do you miss most about your house/home that you didn’t expect you’d miss?

 Well, I certainly expected to miss – and do miss – my walk-in shower with endless water, my walk-in closet with lots of shoes, my dishwasher, and my laundry room.  But, truth be told, I don’t miss much else.  I made sure to bring along, or duplicate, many of the things I knew I’d miss – sharp knives and my immersion blender in the galley, down comforter and pillows, Kindle with lots of books downloaded, dozens and dozens of DVDs for entertainment.  I’m pleasantly surprised at how well our boat has met our living needs.

 002 - Adams Creek House (2)

Another colorful house that caught my fancy.   Wonder if they are Hokies fans?

How long into the trip before you really “breathed” normally/relaxed and realized you were cruising, not working?

 About a week before my last day of work.

You’re working your way home. Has the time flown by?  Or are you ready to return to the more typical life?

 The horrible weather we’ve had since we left Charleston has conspired to make this stretch of coming home drag.  While we were in Florida and Georgia, and through Charleston, I was really delighting in the trip, and couldn’t wait for more.  Then – bam! – it just got ugly.  Maybe this is nature’s way of helping me transition to “real” life.

 005 - Alligator River Anchorage 006 - Alligator River

Our anchorage in the Alligator River in North Carolina.  The morning after a series of vicious storms.

Fill in the blank: “My dream boat would have a bigger ___________.”

 Wine cellar.

 But seriously, we’re really happy with the way everything fits.  (We could have fit a lot more wine; we just underestimated (a) how much we’d drink, and (b) how hard/expensive it would be to get more.)   If anything, I think I’d like to have some of the spaces better organized.  That way, we could actually have room in the aft cabin for a guest or two, instead of bins and bins of stuff.

 How many photos have you taken?

 I don’t really know, since I download them daily and erase them from the disk.  But I’d say well over 2000.  They will be edited and eventually I’ll make a photo book.

 011 012

Scenery along the Alligator-Pungo Canal.  Didn’t see any bears or turtles or lions.

Do you drink any more?  Any less?  Or the same?

 We drink the same as any typical Saturday in the summer.  Unfortunately, every day of the week has been, effectively, a Saturday.

 Will this experience lessen or increase your interest in sailing this season?

 It will probably be the same.  Which is to say every available weekend.

 013 014

More from the Alligator-Pungo Canal.

What one house-based comfort are you looking forward to after you return?

 My closet!  Being able to match my shoes to my outfit!  I’ve fit my “wardrobe” into one cupboard, one drawer, and about 6 inches of hanging space.

What will you miss most about being on the boat?

When the weather is good, there is nothing quite like living among nature, on the water.

016 017

Passing a barge in the Alligator-Pungo Canal.  There is actually something SLOWER than us! 

Will you publish a book of boat recipes?

Only if I get an enticing advance.

018 - Coinjock Sunset 022

Coinjock sunset.  The first time we’d seen any sun in days. 

Would you do it again?

You bet!  This has been such a great experience for my physical and mental health, and the realization of a long-held dream.  It’s also been good for me and Rick as a couple.  I’ve learned a lot about my (and our) abilities, and limitations, and I look forward to put that learning to good use when we retire and do this more slowly.

2 thoughts on “Your Q’s, A’ed

  1. Pam Bailey

    And, one last question. Will your date of retirement be earlier now that you’ve had a taste of the good life?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

