The Happy Hooker

In the last few seasons, we’d been spending more and more time aboard Calypso, which means we’ve been performing more of our day-to-day activities on board or in a marina.  This has necessarily meant showering, and dealing with wet towels.  At first, we draped them on any old surface in the head.  Then I tried suction cup hooks, but they didn’t stay up on the wall.  Finally, I resorted to a product I’d seen advertised on TV — 3M “Command” hooks.  I’m not one to get too excited about random products, but these suckers lived up to their billing and I was delighted.  And they can be removed easily without leaving a mark.

008

Well-behaved towels.

As we began preparing to go cruising, I faced a dilemma.  On the one hand, we have a beautiful boat.

001

Calypso in her slip at Loggerhead Marina.  Even laden with an outboard, dinghy, jerry cans and power cords, she inspires a satisfied look over my shoulder as I walk past.

And Calypso is lovely inside and out.  While I wouldn’t necessarily have specified the level of finishes and materials she came with, Calypso came decked out down below with luxurious materials that require me to respect them: solid cherry cabinetry, ultrasuede upholstery, teak-and-holly sole (floor), etc.  The hanging lockers (closets), for example, are lined in solid cedar and have ceiling lights — I don’t even have that in my house!

On the other hand, we have to cram a lot of stuff aboard our boat to live aboard for an extended period of time — especially in a place like the Bahamas Out Islands, where it can be weeks before we find ourselves near a poorly-stocked supermarket.  At the same time, our storage solutions need to be somewhat accessible, AND they need to be secure for when we are underway.

Some of our solutions were fairly conventional (bags, bins), but other solutions required creativity.  And my thoughts returned to those well-behaved towel hooks.  Here are a few of the uses I’ve deployed them in:

018

A hand towel hook for the forward cabin (where we have a vanity/sink).

016

A hanging mechanism for some curtains I made with grommets (used to cover open storage for clothing).

010 009

Hanging galley essentials like paper towels, potholders, and lids.

013

Keeping track of sunglasses and car keys.

011

Hanging hardware for a fruit hammock.

012 014

Hanging the tote of totes, and serving as an attachment point for the bungee cord that tames canisters and cruising guides/chart books.

015

Hanging the gecko I got while shopping in Stuart, Florida.  Geckos are considered good luck … plus, I just plain love them.

I have a shoebox full of different sized hooks, just in case I think of another use for them.  Have I gone overboard?

5 thoughts on “The Happy Hooker

  1. Julie

    We have the hooks all over the walls in the head – great for wet towels, wet foul weather jackets and ditty bags. I like your solution for keeping your snacks safe (wow, no shortage there! But I guess they’re rare in the Bahamas)

    Reply
  2. Ed Burke

    An RVer friend of ours suggested sewing loops made out of binding material, like on your pot holder, to the middle of the long edge of towels. It works great, the don’t fall off and the don’t hang too low.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

